GE Refrigerator Door Not Closing

March 16, 2010 at 1:37 pm 6 comments

My GE fridge has been bothering me for the last year. It’s an older model (mid-90s) side by side and I was having issues with the refrigerator door.
The door was not closing by itself and was having issues staying shut. Some mornings I would come downstairs to find the door slightly open.

I had noticed that the door didn’t align correctly, but that seemed to be more of a cosmetic problem. The more I looked into it, the more I realized the cockeyed door was a symptom of the larger issue. There are two cam risers on the bottom hinge of the door that raise and lower the door. These cams help close the door and align the door to meet the fridge opening when fully closed. As I dug around, I found others with the same story and what appeared to be an easy fix.

The cams, being plastic, wear out and break over time. I suspected I was missing both cams. Small pieces of black plastic on the floor around your door is a good indication of wear/breaks in the cam.

I found the part I believed I needed here, http://www.partselect.com/PartDetail.aspx?Inventory=297995&imgID=1, but needing 2 at $10 each seemed steep for a small piece of plastic. I ended up ordering my parts here https://www.appliancezone.com/ShowProduct.aspx?ID=10122 for $0.99 plus $6 to ship. I ordered 2, but each 0.99 package contained 2 risers (so I got 4).

I followed the steps that others outlined on the PartSelect site and had a nice new fridge that closes itself, stays closed, and looks better too.

  1. Removed all items from door storage.
  2. Removed top hinge cover held by single screw and top hinge plate held by two bolts.
  3. Lifted up door to clear bottom hinge pin and removed door.
  4. Turned door upside down and removed bottom hinge assembly held on by two bolts.
  5. Replaced upper cam located on bottom of door and screwed the hinge assembly back on to bottom of door.
  6. Drilled out the rivet that holds the lower cam to the bottom hinge pin.
  7. Removed old lower cam and and replaced with new cam and secured to lower hinge assembly with pan head screw and nut (instead of rivet).

    NOTE: The metal shim that goes between the cam riser & door was also broken, we used a small washer instead of the replacement shim.
  8. Replaced door back onto lower hinge pin and secured upper hinge pin with original bolts.
  9. Placed cover on upper hinge assembly and secured with original screw.

Entry filed under: Realizations. Tags: , , .

Winter Weather An Implied Dress Code

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Richard  |  March 16, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    Good to have a posting after a long drought, but this doesn’t seem like a complaint or a realization. Seems more like an accomplishment. You didn’t even really complain about the part supplier not explaining that the package contained more than one riser.

    Reply
  • 2. Tim da Tool-man  |  April 3, 2010 at 11:37 pm

    Stevie boy, you are a wonder! Come work in my hardware store for me will ya??

    Reply
  • 3. Dale  |  January 16, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    I buy from http://www.pricedrightparts.com. They have evrything the big boys have and most of the time they have better prices. But anyway, I have started using them because They are inexpensive and ship quickly. They have great service too.

    Dale

    Reply
  • 4. John Parker  |  January 18, 2011 at 2:50 am

    Thanks mate,

    Spot on.
    Fridge repaired and door now closing perfectly.

    Cheers.

    Reply
  • 5. R.E. Cycle  |  May 9, 2011 at 11:25 am

    And now for the rest of the story…….the refrigerator is now in the garage, having been replaced by a stainless steel 2011 model (with level functioning doors).

    Reply
    • 6. steveconroy  |  May 9, 2011 at 2:09 pm

      but wouldn’t have been able to sell the old fridge without this fix.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



