The Advantage of Flying to Small Airports

January 5, 2009 at 11:32 am 2 comments

I recently flew out of Ft. Myers airport and realized there are a lot of benefits to flying out of a small airport. There was hardly any traffic unloading which allowed me to pull up right in front of my airline’s doors. Once inside, there were only a few people at the ticket counter and I was able to walk right up and print my boarding pass since I was not checking luggage. Security was a breeze, with about 5 people in front of me and two lanes open. When I got to my gate, there was an abundance of seats open with options near the windows and near electrical outlets.

The last thing that really caught me off guard were the announcements made over the intercom about personal belongings left in this store or that. To top it off, one of the announcements was in regards to the meal someone had just purchased. They had walked away without taking their salad, and an airport wide announcement was made alerting them to there forgotten item.

Although it may cost a little more to fly into a smaller sized airport, the experience in Fort Myers may persuade me to utilize the little guys more often.

Entry filed under: Realizations. Tags: , , , .

Wishing you . . . NBC Lied To Us

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Richard  |  January 5, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    Now that you are a fan of small airports I’d recommend you price flights out of Flint, MI. Depending on where you’re going you might be able to bypass connections through Detroit. It’s not always more expensive to fly from a small airport. Sometimes it’s even cheaper to leave from Flint with a connecting flight in Detroit — the same flight you would have been on if you left from Detroit.

    Another benefit of small airports — the long term parking in Flint is closer to the terminal and approximately 40% less that the off-airport parking in Detroit.

    Reply
  • 2. Walt  |  January 8, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    Exactly why people should buy from http://www.conroyscruisers.com instead of the big box die-cast police vehicle stores!! Small guy, lots of BIG BOY service, great products, low prices!!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed