Olympic Game History

August 14, 2008 at 2:19 pm 5 comments

I was watching the Olympics last night and found myself wondering, where did the pommel horse event come from? It’s not like archery or shooting or fencing or even equestrian, where I could see someone bragging about their skills and challenging someone else to prove them wrong.

Really, every gymnastic event other than the floor exercise (“Hey, I beat I can jump and twist and add a little dance in between better than you”???) seems to be arbitrary. I’ve never seen anyone swinging from bars or hanging off some rings in everyday life (other than on American Gladiators).

I didn’t do any research on the pummel horse event in particular, but feel free to leave some input.

Entry filed under: Realizations. Tags: , , , .

Stati or Statuses Avoiding Jet Lag

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. brad  |  August 14, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    american gladiators is part of your everyday life?

    Reply
  • 2. jjbacik  |  August 14, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    Watching the Olympics kp and I were wondering about the diver’s showers and sure enough there was an article on it yesterday.

    The Mystery of the Showering Divers

    Highlight of the article is they call out NBC’s diving analyst, Cynthia Potter on a RIDICULOUS comment , which i was lucky enough to catch live.

    Theories have ranged from ‘to get the chlorine off’ to ‘they want to have fun’ — seriously, that last one is a direct quote from NBC’s diving analyst, Cynthia Potter. Neither are the reason.

    Reply
  • 3. steveconroy  |  August 14, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    American Gladiators isn’t a part of EVERYDAY life, but I’ve seen my fair share and that’s the only place I’ve ever seen any type of ringed event. I don’t see people fencing everyday either, but I can see the merit in an Olympic event based of sword fighting.

    Reply
  • 4. brad  |  August 14, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    you dont see people fencing everyday? your drive to work must be totally different than mine…

    Reply
  • 5. helen  |  August 17, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    I was also interested in the pommel horse origins. In researching the origins of the pummel horse I found that it was originally a training exercise for Roman soldiers about 600 years ago. The current side of the pommel horse was introduced by the Americans in the 1948 Olympics. So, competition was probably involved as soldiers pitted their horsemenship against one another.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



