Stairs Two at a Time

July 30, 2008 at 4:12 pm 5 comments

Do you go up staircases two stairs at time? Do you go down two at a time?

I personally go up two at a time, but down in the singular. When I go up the stairs, I like to end at the top without having to take the last stair as a single. I’ve noticed some people do the opposite, starting with 2 stairs at a time and ending with with a single stair. I actually don’t have a particular starting stair, but usually know the staircase I am climbing and know whether to start on step #1 or step #2 to hit the top landing just right.

Entry filed under: Realizations. Tags: , , .

Security Question Home Depot Gift Registry

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Richard  |  July 30, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    Wow! I’m impressed that you know so much about the stairs you traverse. When ascending a new staircase do you start on stair step 1 or 2?

    Reply
  • 2. suzie  |  July 30, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    you realy have to much time on your mind to be counting steps and knowing exactly were your at at the end

    Reply
  • 3. steveconroy  |  July 31, 2008 at 9:22 am

    Richard – I usually start at stair 1 when taking on a new staircase.

    Suzie – it’s not so much that I count the stairs, but the few that I use on a daily basis (2 sets of stairs in my house, 2 sets in my parents house, work) it becomes habit to recognize where to start to end correctly.

    The odd thing about my parents house – the front stairs require you start on step 1, but the back stairs is step 2.

    Reply
  • 4. Dan  |  July 31, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    Up two at a time, down one at time, always start on two, and deal with the top of the stair case as it come.

    Reply
  • 5. jeff  |  August 9, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    up and down two at a time….i too know most of the stairwells and will end on the double….sometimes, on those ridiculous 3 inch stairs i “jog up to them” so i can take 3 or four at a time…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



