Sonic advertising

May 14, 2008 at 9:43 am 5 comments

Over the last few months I have seen numerous commercials for Sonic Drive In. I myself have never seen a Sonic around the Detroit area and was curious after some people told me how good it was after visiting one in Florida.

I did some checking, and it turns out the closest Sonic to Detroit is in Fort Wayne Indiana, about a 200 mile drive (Sonics site tells me it’s 140 miles, but then when I ask for driving directions, the number magically turns to 194). So why would Sonic spend so much money advertising in the Detroit market when there isn’t even a Sonic in the state? Even if the eventual plans are to open one, months and months of advertising ahead of time can’t translate into huge profits on a 99 cent hot dog.

Entry filed under: Realizations. Tags: , , , , , .

Record High: Alaska vs. Hawaii From the guys who brought you . . .

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jjbacik  |  May 14, 2008 at 10:32 am

    i’m not one to complain, but you are about 2 years late on this one. On a side note they have one in columbus now, stop on your way back to centerville one time, you won’t regret it!

    Reply
  • 2. Kozmo Kramer  |  May 14, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    Try a Hedgehog burger, I heard they were DA BOMB !

    Reply
  • 3. Richard  |  May 15, 2008 at 8:04 am

    I can’t speak to their advertising strategy. Perhaps they only purchase national ads. I do know every time we venture south of the boarder – Michigan boarder that is – the girls go nuts for Sonic. “Daddy, please!”

    Reply
  • […] 16, 2008 So I took some advice posted in the comments of Sonic Advertising and ate at a Sonic tonight. I was […]

    Reply
  • 5. Chris Bobbin  |  June 14, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    The advertising in Michigan over the past few years is because of the company’s growth with promotion for sports teams, cable companies, TV Networks and TV shows. The advertiaing has nothing to do with demographics, it has to do with business and expanding the volume brought into the current stores.

    Come on into the SOUTGATE, MI SONIC and tell em Chris sent you. More than likely I’ll be working. I’m there 6 days a week 10 hours a day. Come between 6-9am, the wait won’t be more than 10-15 min.

    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



