A Routine-less Day

April 28, 2008 at 2:08 pm 3 comments

I had last Friday off in order to get ready for some guests coming for the weekend. In the morning, I ran to a couple stores looking for some new sheets for the guest bed. I was BLOWN AWAY by the number of women I saw out shopping at 9:30. Almost all of them were in jogging suits and it was eerily quiet as the women riffled through racks, bins and displays. I was literally the only male in three of the stores I visited that morning. I was also probably the only person under the age of 30.

I wonder how many of the husbands of these women knew their day was filled with shopping while they were, presumably, at work.

My suggestion to you is to pick a random day and do something out of the ordinary for you. It’s interesting to see what makes up others routine.

Entry filed under: Realizations. Tags: , , , , .

Your Opinion on Escalators Even Spread

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ben Babics  |  April 30, 2008 at 8:13 am

    On the flip side- one of those “jogging suit wives” may have assumed, because you were under 30, you were out shopping with daddy’s credit card while being at student at OU. I guess my point is, it’s hard to know what makes someone’s daily routine by not truly knowing much about them.

    Judging someone’s daily routine because of circumstance is just silly when they, very much like you, could have been there dressed in jogging suit surrounded by a dozen others dressed just like them, solely by coincidence. šŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 2. steveconroy  |  April 30, 2008 at 9:20 am

    I’d be ok with that assumption. It would be the wrong one, and I assume that since I was at Linen’s and Things, they probably didn’t think I was on some daddy fueled credit card binge.

    Anyway, yes, I can not generalize all of the women there were partaking in a daily routine. However, by the sheer number of them and the general similarities, I think it’s a safe bet that this is an ongoing affair for at least some.

    Reply
  • 3. Ben Babics  |  April 30, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    Well, to that I conclude that I really do not understand women. That would have to be ranked as one of the most boring leisure activities I’ve ever heard of.

    Come to think of it, it may even rank up there with some 30 year old males that enjoy spending free time playing World of Warcraft. OH SNAPS!!!!!!11

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



