Fruit Snack Conspiracy

April 15, 2008 at 1:52 pm 2 comments

How is it possible that in every bag of fruit snacks I eat, there are always more orange and yellow ones than any other color? I’m lucky if I get two blue. Or one blue and one red. I’ve seen the same thing across multiple brands, so I know it’s not just my current selection. Green tends to sneak in a lot too. I wonder if blue was the crappy flavor, if it would be in there more since I don’t want it.

Entry filed under: Complaints. Tags: , , , .

My potential future Realizations gets a face lift

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jeff  |  May 6, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    orrrrrrr, blue/green/red dye costs more then yellow and orange. This is the case with a lot of plastics where certain colors are far less coslty…same with fireworks – purple’s the cheapest-right?

    Reply
  • 2. steveconroy  |  May 7, 2008 at 8:50 am

    But, to make orange, you need red and yellow. So with a high prevalence of orange, that means you’re using red as well.

    and hopefully my fruit snacks aren’t made from the same materials as fireworks.

    The reason fireworks are cheaper per color is because of the different compounds contained in the firework. Compounds that burn blue and green are more expensive than the more available yellow and red compounds.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



