Customer Service Reps working on 1980’s Computers

February 8, 2008 at 4:52 pm 2 comments

I have been making a lot of calls to companies lately regarding my home purchase. These range from calling mortgage brokers, banks, insurance companies, cable, electric, and gas providers. Every time I call them, I get a different customer representative who has to either take or confirm my personal and account information. Of the numerous calls I have made, at least 87% of the customer reps have stated that their computers are “running slow today”. Either every customer service representative works on old DOS based computer or is still dialing up through 28k modems.

I don’t buy it. I pay all of these places enough money to be able to afford a computer that can keep up with entering my information and processing some data as well as a high speed internet connection.

Entry filed under: Complaints. Tags: , , , .

You and Your Aim: for you Office Boys Over the Top Donuts

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ben  |  February 12, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    I hear ya. I get annoyed when I’m asked to enter my information on the keypad so I can get transferred to a customer service rep. Then, when they’re finally on the line they ask me for my information all over again.

    Reply
  • 2. Nathan  |  December 23, 2009 at 7:18 am

    The fact is, they have 200 computers linked on a single network and those are linked nationally to thousands and sometimes the just run slow. I have worked at two different call centers, we dont up stuff.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



