Drew Carey Hosts Price is Right Disappoints

November 9, 2007 at 4:28 pm 28 comments

Has anyone else watched the new Price is Right with Drew Carey? I set the DVR to record one of the typical 11 am shows not to long ago and was severely disappointed. I had to stop watching in the middle of the first pricing game. The girl contestant was taking a long time to give a number, and I sat there waiting and expecting the typical “Come on now Erica, I need a number” response Barker would have snapped out. Instead, timid Drew just kinda stood there waiting. He just doesn’t have that charisma that Barker had.

Listen to Bob push her along; I miss how he made the idiots feel, well, like idiots:

Here’s a clip from the new show, its ok, only because the contestants situation is funny. Apparently this is the only funny moment because a quick search of youtube for ‘price is right drew carey’ returns basically nothing.

Entry filed under: Realizations. Tags: , , , , , , .

Gmail.Surprise Christmas Birthday – double or nothing

28 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nancy  |  January 28, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    I couldn’t agree with you more – Drew Carey is horrible – where do you write to complain?? I can’t believe that loyal fans of this show are allowing him to be host – maybe they should ask George Hamilton or Donny Osmond – ANYONE EXCEPT DREW CAREY – he is like watching paint dry!

    Reply
  • 2. jared  |  January 30, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    So I know Drew Carey ruined the Price the Right, and that I’m disappointed every time I watch the new format. But still I’m working from home and have TV access at the 11 o’clock hour so I feel I’m obligated to watch. I think PIR won this battle.

    They even played plinko today, so i’ll watch again!

    Reply
  • 3. Sharon  |  February 1, 2008 at 5:33 pm

    Drew Carey is a horrible host. He does not have any class. If he doesn’t quit putting his arm around everybody, someday someone will sue for sexual harrasment. He never stops babbling and takes the attention away from the contestants. He is a disaster. I can’t stand all the stupid remarks that comes out of his mouth. He needs to be replaces soon.

    Reply
  • 4. Eileen  |  March 4, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    Drew Cary is ruining the best game show. If he makes one more person say Hello durning the spin I will scream! Get ANYONE else or this great show will flop. Drew is OK in other shows but in this one he stinks.

    Reply
  • 5. Jane  |  June 12, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    I’ve given him a chance but no more. Drew Carey is just Awful. He is boring, has no enthusiams and mumbles. I can’t believe the producers can’t see this. There are so many better choices: John O’Hurley or Mario Lopez (wouldn’t you love to see his dimples every day). please, Please, PLEASE GET RID OF DREW before you have to can the show entirely.

    Reply
  • 6. Kozmo Kramer  |  June 12, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    I completely missed the original story posted on this topic….BUT…..Drew Carey has turned out to be the worst person they could have picked. Did they not rehearse the show with the applicants to see how they would do before hiring Carey??? The show is so anti-climatic that it is horrible. Even I…Kozmo Kramer could do a better job…..just look what I did with the Merv Griffin set.

    Reply
  • 7. Timothy  |  November 21, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    I think Drew is doing a good job. Donny Osmond tried to take over for Dick Clark on the Pyramid and he made the same comments and had that fake smile made me want to punch him in the face. Mario tried to host a show, I don’t remember the name, but it didn’t last long. Drew is making the show his own, he is there IN place of Bob not to REplace him.

    Reply
  • 8. Amy  |  March 15, 2009 at 11:27 am

    If that damn Drew tucks in his tie one more time when it doesn’t need it I am going to call the producers of the show. He is so stupid because he doesn’t know what to do with his hands. Or he will try to put his hand in his pocket. You watch, how many times he tucks his tie. One time, I counted 23 times in an hour. He tries to be funny, and never is. He laughs inappropriately, he is so dumb he can’t even add how much more a contestant needs when they spin the wheel. He counts on his fingers!!!! What an slap in the face to Bob Barker to have him as the new host.

    Reply
  • 9. Ruth  |  May 14, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    I was on the Price is Right yesterday. Yes it is true that Drew does babble with the audience a lot. But he is not half as annoying as those dam interviewers that admit the contestants to the show.
    I had with me yesterday my lovely daughter who happens to be a soldier in the U.S. Army. She had just finished up a demanding Medic training program. She was the only one there in her Army uniform. She was not picked. Is this how we treat our U.S. soldiers on leave fighting for our country at a time of war?
    The producers are ass holes. I was extremely hurt and saddened.
    What is the world coming too?

    Reply
  • 10. Cara  |  June 3, 2009 at 11:50 am

    The Price is Right USED to be my favorite show! I travelled cross country twice to be in the audience and even went to a show on my honeymoon. Bob Barker was AWESOME and was such a genuine guy; that’s why the show was a success.
    I knew that whomever was to fill Bob’s shoes was not going to be able to compare…but GIVE ME A BREAK! Drew is the absolute worst! I can no longer stomach even watching the show!! It’s as if Drew is making fun of the show while he is hosting. I can’t believe they chose him, what a HUGE LET DOWN! 😦

    Reply
  • 11. M. VALLEY  |  December 8, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    I AGREE WITH A HUGH NUMBER OF PEOPLE THAT DREW CARY IS HORRIBLE. I USED TO TAPE THE SHOW IF I CAN’T BE HOME. WHEN HE HE COME ON I LEAVE. I KNOW BOB BARKER IS UP IN AGE AND WANT DO THE SHOW ANYMORE. BUT IF HE IS UP TO IT DROP IN AND DO ONE MORE SHOW. PLEASE, PLEASE GET RID OF DREW CRAY. WILL HIS CONTRACT END SOON? PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHEN, SO I CAN START WATCHING THE PRICE IS RIGHT AGAIN. I KNOW YOU WANT ANSWER, BUT THANKS ANYWAY.

    Reply
  • 12. steveconroy  |  December 8, 2009 at 6:02 pm

    In the Fall of 2007 Drew Carey signed a 5 year contract to host PIR. 2 years into a 5 year stint.

    This may also be just the begining:

    “the new host says he can easily see himself at Price for at least 10 years, if not the 35 clocked in by Barker. ” (Source)

    Reply
  • 13. Michael Cowan  |  April 13, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    What were they thinking signing Drew Carey?! Are you telling me that of all the choices they had he was it?! I find it hard to believe that Bob Barker endorsed this incredibly dull replacement.

    Reply
  • 14. Earl  |  May 26, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    Drew Carey is not the problem with PIR. It is the stupid participants that jump up and down and act like crazy monkeys. The people on the show don’t even have enough self-confidence to make choices on their own. They look out into the audience full of more silly, waving, yelling, jumping people for the right answer. The entire show makes me want to barf…………I even watched a big fat person who won a car…….run over to the car and jump up on the hood. Then he started to jump up and down like a mad animal bending the hood right before the camera. The show is the most in-human production I know of. They should change the shows name to The People Act Nuts.

    Reply
  • 15. Sally  |  June 3, 2010 at 11:50 am

    I hate the abuse that Drew Carey is taking since he has taken over the show. There is no doubt in my mind that he is going to have to have back surgery. Is it the producers attitude that he is making enough money that whatever a contestant decides to do to him is OK? It is not OK with me. I have no reason to go to bat for Carey, but today a big, muscular Asian (I have seen whites to it too, and women mostly) man jumped with his arm around Carey’s neck, and his feet off the floor. Carey bit his lip and blinked–Well, I should think so. This is abuse! Can you do something about it? Bob Barker held them off with an arm. Of course, he is much older, but there is absolutely no excuse for this type of behavior. Now I have said my say!! I truly think is is abuse.

    Reply
  • 16. Dude  |  June 4, 2010 at 11:43 am

    The show needed a new person to run it. Barker was burned out and was rude to the contestants sometimes. Carey should not let people jump on him like they do. As has been said here the participants act like crazy people. Life is not that way. People don’t jump on each other and go nuts. The show makes people act that way maybe or the won’t choose them.

    Reply
    • 17. Alan  |  April 16, 2012 at 11:12 am

      I agree, all the yelling and jumping has ruinned the program..Shame of them for let it happen..All these years it was a very enjoyable and exciting program, now, IT STINKS…

      Reply
  • 18. Dude  |  June 17, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    The people on this show are nuts………they jump and yell like wild animals. It is not normal…………calm down you stupid nuts and act right.

    Reply
  • 19. Dude  |  August 16, 2010 at 11:43 am

    I think the fellow who does the anouncing stinks…….every time he say’s “It’s a new CAAAAAAAAR. He strings out all the words. And Carey mumbles evey word.

    Reply
  • 20. Dude  |  August 18, 2010 at 11:37 am

    Watching Drey Carey (MR. Mumbles) on PIR has helped me understand that this stupid show, with it’s crazy acting folks could only be headed by a person that takes life and the show not serious at all. A person who would be logical, and very professional would be as out of place on this silly show as having a monkey do the 5PM new on CBS. So Drey just do your stuff and keep acting like just another silly person. The people who run the show have it going the way they want. But I got to tell you the way they jump up an down and act so un-human…the way they look out into the audience for the correct choice to make about the prizes makes me wonder why people can’t make the choice on their own. If you ever looked out into the audience for an answer, they are pointing and waving, and doing things nobody could understand what they mean anyway. Dumb up screaming idiots for sure. But I watch it, just to see how low our society has gone.

    Reply
  • 21. Dude  |  October 2, 2010 at 10:14 am

    I have noticed there is a NEW announcer he is much better than the other guy who streatched out alll his words………like He is a new CAAAAAAR.

    Reply
  • 22. Dude  |  October 14, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    It will never end………the people that are chosen on this show jump up and down like idiots. They are not real at all.

    Reply
  • 23. Dude  |  October 29, 2010 at 10:37 am

    It’s not just the people chosen for the show. Somehow they have a full audience that wave and scream, jump up and down like animals. Where are the normal ones……….. I would like to know how they pump up the audience before the show…….they must tell them if we choose you go crazy and if you can’t go crazy at least act like you are.

    Reply
  • 24. Dude  |  November 4, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    Today Nov 4,2010 I watched the TPIR and noticed that Drew acted like he was drunk…very silly, and not his normal mumbling self. Bet he is needing a drink to put up with the crazyness of the show.

    Reply
  • 25. Earl  |  December 6, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    Drew keeps repeating things over and over. Maybe it’s from watching those chosen ones jumping up and down so much that it is affecting what is left of his brain. What a silly bunch of participants.

    Reply
  • 26. MaryAnne  |  August 5, 2013 at 11:59 am

    The people you choose to be on the show are totally insane. It is not a pleasure to watch such stupidity. Do your people tell them to act like this?

    Reply
    • 27. Alan  |  August 5, 2013 at 1:02 pm

      I stopped watching the program when the people started acting like fools jumping and dancing around..What’s with all the screaming like kids being let out of school..Drew Carey doesnt help things with his big mouth..

      Reply
  • 28. janice nelson  |  December 31, 2014 at 12:20 pm

    After a contestant gave his shout out to family and all the beautiful people in the world, Drew Carey added in, offensively, hello to all the ugly people too. That was disgraceful!! Even the audience booed him. Why does he say so many un-funny things. He make Bob Barker missed even more so. I honestly tape the show and fast-forward so I don’t have to hear him talk.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



